Tae Kwon Do Ranks

Tae Kwon Do (see below) denotes rank using a series of colored belts, just like the Japanese arts from which it took its ranking system. It uses 10 gup ranks and 10 dan ranks. Belt colors are: white (10th gup), yellow (8th gup), green (6th gup), blue (4th gup), red (2nd gup), and black (1st through 10th dan). Odd-numbered gup ranks use a belt of the previous rank's color with a stripe of the next rank's color; e.g., a 7th gup wears a yellow belt with a green stripe.

Not all schools use this traditional ranking system. Many have adopted a wide variety of belt colors to denote different ranks, adding solid colors such as purple and orange to denote odd-numbered gups. Some add more intermediate stripes between belts to allow for steady progress through small promotions.

There are no tales of "cinematic" sword-and-shield fighters. The GM should certainly allow them, though, and a few techniques are very appropriate for the style.

Modern reenactors - in particular the Society for Creative Anachronism (SCA) - have worked hard to recreate this style. Use the style as written, replacing combat skills with Combat Sport skills. For live-steel reenactors, even this change is unnecessary.

Skills: Broadsword; Shield; Wrestling. Techniques: Counterattack (Broadsword); Feint (Broadsword or Shield).

Cinematic Techniques: Dual-Weapon Attack (Broadsword or Shield); Dual-Weapon Defense (Broadsword or Shield); Flying Lunge (Broadsword).

Perks: Shield-Wall Training; Sure-Footed (Uneven).

The Ultimate Karate Bible

The Ultimate Karate Bible

Stop being the victim. Long lost manuscript will show you exactly how to humiliate your enemies with a few secret moves. Stop for a minute and picture this you're walking home alone one night. It's just a regular night like any other and you are eager to get home.

Get My Free Ebook

Post a comment